Loyola Support DocumentationZoom Guide Adjusting Default SettingsHow do I make my Zoom meetings more secure?

How do I make my Zoom meetings more secure?

Zoom provides the ability for each user to customize their meeting and user settings based on their specific needs and contexts, including for a class, a training, or administrative meeting.

Loyola Zoom Account Settings for Security

Log Onto the Loyola Zoom Subscription.

Navigate to luc.zoom.us, select SIGN IN (either on the right pane or the upper right corner of the page), and log in with your Loyola username and password.

Select Settings.

Select Settings from the menu on the left.

Allow Only Authenticated Users to Join Your Meeting.

  1. Within the Meeting tab, select Schedule Meeting.
  2. Scroll down the list of options to Only authenticated users can join meeting.
  3. Use the slider to activate the option. Blue indicates that the option is enabled for your meetings.

When the Only authenticated users setting is activated, a participant using a Zoom meeting link will be required to sign in to Zoom before gaining access to the meeting room.

Restrict Screen Sharing.

  1. Select In Meeting (Basic) from the Meeting menu.
  2. Scroll down to the option Screen sharing.
  3. Select the radio button Host Only to restrict other participants from sharing their screen during your meeting.

When the Host Only setting is activated, only the meeting host will be able to share their screen during a meeting. This setting can be modified within a meeting by the Host. See How do I provide participants with the opportunity to screen share during a meeting?

Use the Waiting Room Feature.

  1. Select In Meeting (Advanced) from the Meeting menu.
  2. Scroll down to the option Waiting room.
  3. Use the slider to activate the option. Blue indicates that the option is enabled for your meetings.
  4. Select the radio button All participants.

When the All participants setting is activated, all participants are placed in a waiting room upon entry into the Zoom meeting. The Host has to then admit each user into the room.

In-Meeting Options for Security

Select Participants.

From the Zoom meeting controls, select Participants to open the Participants panel.

Select More.

Select More at the bottom of the Participants window to display a drop-down menu.

Choose Play Enter/Exit Chime.

This option provides the host with a sound notification whenever a participant enters or leaves the waiting room or meeting room.

Enable Waiting Room.

When this setting is activated, all participants are placed in a waiting room upon entry. The Host has to then admit each user into the room.

Choose Allow Participants to Unmute Themselves.

If this setting is unchecked, only the Host is able to unmute participants' microphones.

Choose Lock Meeting.

Once activated, the meeting is locked and does not allow for entry of any additional participants or for re-entry of participants who have left the meeting.

Select Security.

From the Zoom menu bar select Security to open the Security drop-down window.

Select Lock Meeting.

Once activated, the meeting is locked and does not allow for entry of any additional participants or for re-entry of participants who have left the meeting.

Select Enable Waiting Room.

When this setting is activated, all participants are placed in a waiting room upon entry. The Host has to then admit each user into the room.