Loyola Sakai 12 DocumentationInstructor Guide ChatHow do I read, post, or delete Chat Room messages?

How do I read, post, or delete Chat Room messages?

Go to Chat Room.

Go to Chat Room.

Select the Chat Room tool from the Tool Menu of your site.

To read Chat Room messages:

When you select Chat Room, you will enter the default room (as specified by the site leader).

  1. To change rooms, select Change Room at the top, and select the room you'd like to enter.
  2. To see who is presently in the room, look under "Users in Chat" on the right side of the screen.
  3. Messages appear in chronological order, with the most recent at the bottom. Messages will always identify the sender.
  4. To hide or display the date or time messages were posted, select the appropriate option from the "View" drop-down list: Time Only, Date and Time, Date Only, Neither Date nor Time, or ID Only.
  5. To change how many messages you see, from the second drop-down list, select one of the following options: Last 100 messages, Last 10 messages, Past 3 days, or Show no message history. (If you choose Show no message history, you will see only messages posted after you made this selection.)

To post Chat Room messages:

To post Chat Room messages:

In the text box at the bottom of the window, type your message, and then select Add message or hit the Enter key on your keyboard.

Note: No one can see your message until you select Add message or hit Enter, but once you do, only an instructor or a participant with special permission can delete your message.

To discard a message that you haven't sent yet, select Clear.

To delete a Chat Room messages.

To delete a Chat Room message that you have sufficient permission to delete, select the trash can icon (Delete this Message) next to the posting

Note: If you don't see a trash can icon, you don't have permission to delete the message.

Confirm deletion.

Confirm deletion.

A pop-up box will appearing prompting you to confirm the deletion. If you are sure you want to delete the message, select Delete button to confirm.

Tip: To permanently delete all messages from a chat room, select Options, and then Clear History. Select Delete to confirm.