How do I edit a rubric?

Note: Only rubrics that are local to your site(s) and have not been associated with a grade item can be edited. Once a rubric is in use, it will appear with a lock icon next to it, indicating that it cannot be edited.

Go to Rubrics.

Select Rubrics from the site tool menu.

Select the title of the rubric to edit to expand its content.

Remember, locked rubrics may not be edited.

The Lock icon indicates that a rubric is associated with an activity in the site and it cannot be edited. If necessary to edit a locked rubric, either disassociate the rubric from the activity where it is being used, or make a copy of the rubric and edit the copy.

Select the Edit icon next to the rubric title to rename it.

Modify the title and Save.

Select the Edit icon next to a criterion to modify that criterion.

Modify the criterion title and/or description and Save.

Select the Edit icon next to a rating to modify that rating.

Modify the rating title, points, and/or description and Save.

Note: If you would like to delete a rating level, you may do so by selecting the Remove button here.

Drag and drop to reorder.

Change the order of both criteria and ratings by selecting the Reorder icon in each cell and dragging the selected item to its new location.

Delete unneeded criteria.

Select the X icon [Remove Criterion] to delete an unnecessary criterion.

Select the Remove button when prompted to confirm the deletion.