Loyola Support Documentation

How do I rearrange or rename the items in the Tool Menu?

Updated

The Tool Menu can be customized by the instructor of the course to modify the order or appearance of menu items in the site. Tools can be renamed, hidden from students, locked, or removed.

Select Site Info.

Select Site Info

Select the Site Info tool from the Tool Menu of your site.

Select Tool Order.

Select Tool Order

Select Tool Order from the Actions Menu.

Drag and Drop items to rearrange the tool order.

drag and drop tools to reorder

Drag and drop tools to rearrange the order of tools in the menu.

Sort tools alphabetically.

sort alphabetically

Select the Sort Alphabetically button at the bottom of the page to arrange all of the tools in alphabetical order by title.

Rename a tool.

Select the gear and choose Edit Tool Title.

select the gear and choose edit title
  1. Select the gear icon to reveal the tool settings.
  2. Then, choose Edit Tool Title from the dropdown menu.

Type the new name for the tool.

type a new title and select the green checkmark
  1. Type the new tool name in the Title field.
  2. Select the green check mark to save your changes.

Hide a tool from students.

Select the gear and choose Make Tool Invisible.

select the gear and choose make tool invisible

Hiding a tool from students allows them to access the tool from other areas of the site, but they do not see it listed in the Tool Menu.

  1. Select the gear icon to reveal the tool settings.
  2. Then, choose Make Tool Invisible to Students from the dropdown menu.

Hidden tool indication.

hidden tools indicated by eyeball icon

In this example, the Site Info tool is hidden from students. Instructors and others with sufficient permissions (e.g., Teaching Assistants) see the tool as italicized with a "hidden" icon to the right of the tool title.

Lock access to a tool.

Select the gear and choose Lock Access.

select he gear and choose lock access

Locking access to a tool disables it for student use. Students will not see it in the menu, and they also will not be able to access that tool from other areas of the site.

  1. Select the gear icon to reveal the tool settings.
  2. Choose Lock Access to this Tool from the dropdown menu.

Note: Not all tools are lockable. If the tool cannot be locked, that option will not appear in the dropdown menu.

Locked tool indication.

locked tools indicated by padlock icon

Locked tools are indicated by a padlock icon to the right of the tool title. Locked tools are hidden from students by default.

Delete a tool.

Select the gear and choose Delete this Tool.

select gear and choose delete this tool

Deleting a tool has the same affect as removing a tool using the Manage Tools option in Site Info. It will remove the tool from the menu and deactivate it in the site, but it will not delete any content that exists within the tool.

  1. Select the gear icon.
  2. Choose Delete this Tool from the dropdown menu.

Note: Not all tools can be deleted. If the tool cannot be deleted, that option will not appear in the dropdown menu.

Select Save.

select save

Once you have completed all of your changes, select Save at the bottom of the list.

Previous Article How do I add tools to my site?
Next Article How do I copy content from one site to another (i.e., import from site)?