Loyola Support Documentation

How do I add users to my course site or project site?

Updated

For most registered courses, student enrollment is handled automatically through integration with LOCUS. To request enrollment of other user types in a course site (e.g., Teaching Assistant, Tutor), complete the self-service Enrollment Request form. Follow the instructions below to add users to a Sakai project site.

Select Site Info.

Select Site Info

Select the Site Info tool from the Tool Menu of your site.

Select Add Participants.

Select Add Participants

Select Add Participants from the Actions Menu.

Add participant information.

Enter participants' usernames or email addresses, choose to assign them the same role or assign individually, choose their status, and select continue
  1. For participants with official usernames (i.e., UVIDs), under "Other Official Participants," type each participant's username, one per line.
  2. For participants without official usernames, under "Non-official Participants," enter their email addresses, one per line.
  3. Under "Participant Roles," choose whether to give all your newly added participants the same role or different roles (i.e., access, maintain).
  4. Under "Participant Status," choose whether to let your newly added participants use the site right away by selecting Active, or keep them from accessing the site for now by selecting Inactive.
  5. Select Continue.

Choose participant role.

choose a role and select continue
  1. For the default option of Assign all participants the same role, select the radio button for the desired role
  2. Then, select Continue.

Select individual participant roles.

assign users roles individually, then select continue
  1. If you chose to Assign each participant a role individually, use the dropdown menus to the right of the participants' names to select each participant's role.
  2. Then, select Continue.

Choose to send or not send a notification email.

choose whether to notify particpants and select continue
  1. You may choose the Send Now option to send a notification email to participants if desired. The default setting is Don't Send.

2. Then, select Continue.

Confirm addition of participants.

select finish

Review the list of site participants and their roles to confirm that they will be added to your site. If the information is correct, select Finish.

Previous Article How do I rearrange or rename the items in the Tool Menu?
Next Article How do I remove users from my course or project?