Loyola Support Documentation

How do I modify the settings for Messages?

Updated Dec 08, 2020

This feature allows users to modify the default Messages tool settings. Users with site owner permission have additional options for configuring the tool within the site.

Go to Messages.

Select the Messages tool from your site's Tool Menu

In the target Sakai site, select the Messages tool from the Tool Menu.

Select Settings.

Select Settings

Select Settings from the actions menu.

Site Owner (Instructor) Settings Options:

Options available to site owners

As an instructor or site owner, you can choose whether or not site participants are able to forward messages, and which groups (if any) are hidden in the message recipient list.

You may also set a personal forwarding email address for your own messages.

Site Participant (Student) Settings Options:

Options available to site participants

If the site owner has allowed sending copies (i.e., forwarding messages), then site participants or students will be able to specify a forwarding email address.

Select Save Settings.

Select save settings

Once you have made all of your changes, click Save Settings.

Previous Article How do I delete a message?
Next Article How do I determine who site participants can send a message to?