The function to merge announcements allows for a central course to push out announcements to other courses. For example, a Nursing Program includes twenty different courses. But a single Nursing Program Master course or project site could be used to push announcements out to all twenty of the Nursing Program courses. Announcements that are merged from the Master course cannot be edited or deleted in the individual Nursing Program courses. Those courses could create additional announcements that would apply to their specific course only. Those would appear in addition to the announcements merged from the Master Course.
Select the Announcements tool from the Tool Menu of your site.
Select Merge from the Actions Menu.
Select the course to merge from.
- Check the box in the "Show Announcements" column that corresponds to the site you'd like to merge announcements from.
- Then, select Save.
Example: Master site announcements
Merged announcements show up in the destination site's Announcements list, but there is no option to edit here. Announcements can only be edited within their site of origin. Edits made in the originating site will display in merged sites once they are saved.